Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale
International Union of Radio Science
Kleinheubacher Tagung 2022
U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.
Miltenberg | 27.–29.09.2022

Young Scientist Awards / Young Scientist Best Paper Awards on the occasion of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2022

As part of our continuing commitment to encouraging the next generation of early-stage researchers, we will offer up to 10 Young Scientist Awards and 3 Young Scientist Best Paper Awards during the course of the conference.

The selection of Young Scientist Award (YSA) recipients will be based upon an examination of the documents submitted. Besides originality and creativity, form and clarity of the presented work will be assessed. The YSA includes a certificate, a waiver of conference fees, and a prize money of €250.

All YSA recipients are required to give a talk within the scope of the regular conference programme. Additionally, they are required to present their contribution at a special YSA poster session. During this posters session, the contributions will be evaluated by an award committee. The top three contributions will be awarded a Young Scientist Best Paper Award (YS-BPA). In addition to a certificate and the stated prize money, the recipients will receive: €750 (1st prize), €500 (2nd prize), and €250 (3rd prize).

All YSA und YS-BPA recipients will be honored at the festive closing event of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2022.

Terms of eligibility

Scientists born 1987 or later holding a Diploma or Master degree at the minimum are invited to apply. The following documents, written either in German or English, are to be submitted via https://kh2022.edas.info/ under the category "Young Scientist Award" no later than 5 July 2022:

  1. Extended abstract (3 pages plus bibliography, using IEEE manuscript template for Conference Proceedings, download-site: https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html)
  2. Supplementary documentation (one PDF file), consisting of
    • Curriculum vitae and
    • A letter of recommendation (1 page maximum) from an expert (e.g., the Ph.D. advisor) or a member of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.

All applicants will be notified by 27 August 2021.

Enquires are to be directed to the Head of the Award Committee, Dr. Alexander Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy - Radio Observatory Effelsberg -, Max-Planck-Straße 28, 53902 Bad Münstereifel-Effelsberg, Germany, at akraus@mpifr.de.